Add to Cart

1. X. 1905

Piano Sonata
fingering: Stephen Hough
Look inside!

The composition 1.X.1905, generally referred to as a sonata, stems from the autumn of 1905, the peak of the riots between the Czech- and German-speaking populations in Janácek's hometown Brno. Reacting to the violent death of a Czech worker, Janácek wrote a three-part composition for piano originally bearing the title From the Street, on October 1, 1905. Dissatisfied with the work, however, Janácek is said to have first burned the third movement in his fireplace and then thrown the remaining two movements into the Vltava, even before its premiere. A copy of these first two movements on which the publication of the first edition was later based is also missing today. For this reason, the Urtext edition of G. Henle Publishers and Universal Edition is based solely on thefirst edition from 1924, which Janácek expert Jirí Zahrádka has carefully evaluated and annotated for this volume.

Questions? Click here to get answers!

Catalog Number 51481174 / HN1174
Publisher Henle Urtext Edition
UPC 840126913439
Instrument Piano
Series Henle Music Folios
Size 12.00x9.00
Weight 3.7 oz